关于麻将 – 世界麻将大赛

麻将历史

关于麻将的起源有许多理论和传说 ─ 大部分都是未经证实的,也有一些是相当稀奇古怪的。一个受欢迎但不大可能的说法是:麻将是由中国知名哲学家孔子所创造。事实上,关于这个现今风靡各地的游戏由来,应该是经过不同时期演变而来,而非只是一个明确的开始。

纵观中国历史,有一些游戏类似现代麻将。雅培,一个起源于宋朝(公元960- 1279年)的游戏,使用木材和象牙卡,类似于今天的麻将牌。另一个游戏马吊,始源于明朝(公元1368-1644年),由雅培改良而成,更接近现代麻将。经过几个世纪的不断发展,很多人相信我们现在所认识的麻将是在19世纪中期到后期之间所创造的。但是,对于谁是真正的创造者依然大有争议。有一说法是一位在中国上海的贵族创造了该游戏,另一个说法则是暗示是由一名太平天国时期的中国军官所发明,还有一个备受肯定的说法是,一对住在中国宁波的兄弟(其身份不详)是麻将的创造者。

一旦这个游戏被发明之后,它迅速地在中国普及并传播到中国境外。麻将首次被引进西方社会很可能是在20世纪左右,当人们开始在上海的英国俱乐部里玩。大约在这个时候,其他亚洲国家,如日本和韩国,人们也开始玩麻将来做消遣。

History of Mahjong

There are many theories and legends about mahjong’s origins — most of them are unsubstantiated, and several are quite fanciful. A popular yet unlikely story is that mahjong was created by Confucius, the famous Chinese philosopher. The true history of this popular game, however, is more likely an evolution than one clear beginning.

Throughout China’s history, there were several games similar to modern mahjong. Ya Pei, a game that originated in the Sung Dynasty (960-1279 AD), used wood and ivory cards similar to today’s mahjong tiles. Another game, Ma Tiae, from the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644 AD), built on Ya Pei and is even closer to modern mahjong. After centuries of evolving game cards and strategies, it is believed by many that the game we now know as mahjong was ultimately created in the mid- to late 19th century — however, there is still some debate on who’s responsible for its creation. One legend suggests that it was a Chinese nobleman in Shanghai, and another implies it was Chinese army officers during the Taiping Rebellion. A very popular theory is that it was two Chinese brothers (whose identities are now unknown) in the city of Ningpo who were ultimately responsible for creating mahjong.

Once the game was created, it gained popularity quickly, spreading outside of China’s borders. Mahjong was likely first introduced to Westerners around the turn of the 20th century when people began playing it in British clubs in Shanghai. Around this time, other Asian countries, such as Japan and Korea, picked up the pastime.